ares logo
 GCARES  Greene County, Ohio
  Greene County Amateur Radio Emergency Service
     Prepared for emergency communication when needed.
Information about
Other Groups
Calendar & Events
Contact Us
Download Center
Emergency Plans
License Classes
Related Links
Repeaters & Nets
ARES Connect

Membership Information

GCARES is NOT a club. GCARES does not collect DUES!
You do not need to be a member of ARRL or any of the Greene County Ham Clubs to be a member of GCARES, although many GCARES members are also members of ARRL and/or one or more clubs. If you would like to join the GCARES mailing list, please click here.

The new ARES structure went into effect January 1, 2019. GCARES now has three levels of participation: Levels 1, 2, and 3. Membership at Level 2 or above must go through the Federal Emergency Management Association (FEMA). This requirement is to ensure that operators are familiar with EMA procedures and organization during a disaster, and can work effectively with local and Federal EMA personnel and first responders.

Level 1
All GCARES members start at Level 1 which requires no specific training other than an Amateur Radio License. You can participate in public service activities such as parades, races, festivals, and similar events. You must register online at ARES Connect (select Create Account) to be a GCARES Member (see below for more information). Some agencies and first responders, however, may require Level 2 for operating in their Emergency Operations Center's (EOC's) or with EMA personnel.

Level 2
Level 2 Membership is granted when confirmation is received that an operator has completed the four basic FEMA National Incident Management System (NIMS) courses (IS-100, 200, 700, and 800). To take any of the online courses, go to the FEMA Training site. You will need to create a FEMA Student ID before taking the courses. You can do that at the FEMA Training site (along the left-hand side).

We hope that most GCARES members will eventually achieve this level. This means that you have completed all of the above courses, and you are competent operating within the Incident Command Structure (ICS). It also means that you will be eligible to sign up for the Ohio Responds which provides state liability protection. For more information, go to the Ohio Responds page on the Ohio ARES site.
Level 3
This is the ARES Management Level required for E.C.'s, D.E.C.'s, and higher, but anyone can qualify. This level requires the completion all Level 2 requirements, plus the additional NIMS (ICS) courses (IS-300 and 400). The five full time on site days required for 300 and 400 might present a problem for some. As an alternative, the requirement can be met by completing IS-120, 230, 240, 241, 242, 244 and 288 online.

GCARES members must be registered online with ARES Connect!
If you have already registered you can check your online information to make sure it is correct. You can click here to go directly to ARES Connect. If you have not registered or are a new applicant for ARES membership, click here to register. If you need more information about ARES or help registering or if you are registered and have found errors, please contact Administration AEC John Westerkamp, W8LRJ, for assistance.

For more information about ARES, you can also contact the EC or any member.

Last updated 1/14/2021